Season 1901-02

24th May 1901
Scottish Football Association – Clubs Exempted
Heart of Midlothian, Celtic, Hibernians, and St Mirrens, as semi-finalists in Scottish Cup, were exempted from the Qualifying competition for next season, and, upon a division, the following twelve clubs were also exempted :- Morton, Abercorn, Dundee, Airdrieonians, Clyde, Rangers, Third Lanark, St Bernard, Queen’s Park, Kilmarnock, Partick Thistle, and Port-Glasgow Athletic. The Ayr and Leith Athletic were voted out of the list.
Ref: Dundee Evening Post 25th May 1901

Qualifying Cup First Round
Glasgow, and Dumbartonshire
Sep07 1-3 Normal Athletic v Renton
w/o Cameronians v Clydebank scr
Sep07 w/o Vale of Leven v Dumbarton scr
bye Glasgow University
Sep07 4-0 Carfin Emmett v Longriggend
Sep07 2-4 East Benhar v Dykehead
Sep07 0-4 Hamilton Academical v Wishaw United
Sep07 3-3 Royal Albert v Albion Rovers
Sep14 1-0 Albion Rovers v Royal Albert
bye Motherwell
Sep07 2-0 Stevenston Thistle v Maybole
Sep07 scr Lugar Boswell v Kilwinning Eglinton w/o
Sep07 0-0 Lanemark v Annbank referee didn't appear. Friendly 30min each way.
Sep14 3-0 Lanemark v Annbank
Sep07 1-0 Ayr Parkhouse v Galston
Sep07 7-2 Beith v Hurlford
Sep07 1-8 Girvan v Ayr
Sep07 scr Cartvale v Arthurlie w/o
Sep07 2-2 Thornliebank v Paisley Academicals
Sep14 0-2 Paisley Academicals v Thornliebank
Sep07 4-1 Johnstone v Neilston
bye Kilbarchan
East of Scotland
Sep07 3-0 West Calder v Leith Athletic
Sep07 w/o Mossend Swifts v Polton Vale scr
Sep07 3-3 Bathgate v Bo'ness protested ineligible players
Sep14 1-1 Bo'ness v Bathgate
Sep21 1-2 Bathgate v Bo'ness at Falkirk a.e.t. 1-1
bye Edinburgh University
Sep07 4-1 Cowdenbeath v Hearts of Beath protested ineligible player
Sep14 2-0 Cowdenbeath v Hearts of Beath
Sep07 1-1 Raith Rovers v Dunfermline Athletic
Sep14 1-1 Dunfermline Athletic v Raith Rovers
Sep21 2-1 Raith Rovers v Dunfermline Athletic at Stark's Park
bye Lochgelly United
Sep07 2-4 Falkirk Amateurs v Alloa Athletic
Sep07 2-1 Falkirk v East Stirlingshire
Sep07 w/o Clackmannan v Slamannan scr
Sep07 4-1 Camelon v King's Park
Sep07 w/o Stenhousemuir v Kilsyth Wanderers scr
bye Dunipace
Perthshire East
Sep14 6-2 Vale of Atholl v Tulloch
Sep07 2-0 Stanley v* Scone
bye Huntingtower
Perthshire West
Sep07 7-1 Dunblane v Auchterarder Thistle
Sep07 5-2 Crieff Morrisonians v* Fair City Athletic
Sep07 0-8 Duncrub Park v St Johnstone
Sep07 3-1 Arbroath v Dundee Wanderers
Sep07 1-2 Montrose v Forfar Athletic
bye Lochee United
Sep07 0-1 Aberdeen v Victoria United
Sep07 1-1 Peterhead v Orion
Sep14 3-1 Orion v Peterhead
Northern Counties
Sep07 0-6 Forres Mechanics v Inverness Caledonian
Sep07 4-2 Inverness Thistle v Clachnacuddin
Dumfries-shire, and Kirkcudbrightshire
Sep07 5-1 Maxwelltown Volunteers v Thornhill
Sep07 4-1 Nithsdale Wanderers v Annandale
Sep07 4-3 Dumfries v 6th G.R.V.
Sep07 5-1 Annan United v Barholm Rovers
Sep07 7-2 Douglas Wanderers v St Cuthbert Wanderers
Sep07 3-1 Stranraer v Tarff Rovers
bye Newton Stewart
Qualifying Cup Second Round
Glasgow, Dumbartonshire, Lanarkshire, and Renfrewshire
Sep21 2-1 Kilbarchan v Carfin Emmett
Sep31 3-1 Motherwell v Dykehead
Sep21 2-1 Johnstone v Renton protested due to referee stopping the game after 87min
Sep28 5-1 Johnstone v Renton
Sep28 1-1 Albion Rovers v Wishaw United cross protests - ineligible players
Sep21 0-0 Albion Rovers v Wishaw United A.R. protest - ineligible players
Oct05 2-2 Wishaw United v Albion Rovers
Oct12 2-2 Wishaw United v Albion Rovers at Broomfield Park, Airdrie a.e.t. 2-2
Oct19 1-1 Wishaw United v Albion Rovers at Fir Park, Motherwell a.e.t. 0-0
Oct26 2-1 Wishaw United v Albion Rovers at Douglas Park, Hamilton a.e.t. 1-1
Sep21 8-1 Arthurlie v Cameronians
Sep21 1-2 Vale of Leven v Thornliebank
bye Glasgow University
Sep21 5-1 Ayr v Ayr Parkhouse
Sep21 4-1 Kilwinning Eglinton v Lanemark
Sep21 0-1 Stevenston Thistle v Beith
East of Scotland
Sep28 6-1 Raith Rovers v West Calder
Sep28 3-1 Cowdenbeath v Bo'ness abandoned 77min crowd break-in upon C. awarded tie
Sep21 2-1 Lochgelly United v Mossend Swifts
bye Edinburgh University
Sep21 1-5 Lochee United v Arbroath
bye Forfar Athletic
Sep21 3-7 Vale of Atholl v Dunblane
Sep21 1-10 Huntingtower v St Johnstone
Sep21 0-2 Crieff Morrisonians v Stanley
Sep21 2-1 Camelon v Alloa Athletic
Sep21 0-3 Dunipace v Stenhousemuir
Sep21 2-7 Clackmannan v Falkirk
Sep21 0-1 Orion v Victoria United
Northern Counties
Sep21 3-0 Inverness Caledonian v Inverness Thistle
Dumfries-shire, and Kirkcudbrightshire
Sep21 2-2 Nithsdale Wanderers v Annan United
Sep28 1-1 Annan United v Nithsdale Wanderers
Oct05 2-3 Annan United v Nithsdale Wanderers at Annan
Sep21 3-2 Dumfries v Douglas Wanderers
bye Maxwelltown Volunteers
Sep21 1-5 Newton Stewart v Stranraer
Qualifying Cup Third Round
Glasgow, Dumbartonshire, Lanarkshire, and Renfrewshire
Oct05 3-1 Motherwell v Kilbarchan
Oct05 2-1 Johnstone v Glasgow University
Nov02 4-3 Thornliebank v Wishaw United
bye Arthurlie
Oct05 0-6 Beith v Ayr
bye Kilwinning Eglinton
East of Scotland, and Stirlingshire
Oct12 2-1 Cowdenbeath v Edinburgh University
Oct05 3-2 Lochgelly United v Raith Rovers
Oct05 0-1 Camelon v Stenhousemuir
bye Falkirk
Forfarshire, and Perthshire
Oct05 2-1 Forfar Athletic v St Johnstone
Oct05 8-2 Arbroath v Dunblane
bye Stanley
Dumfries-shire, and Kirkcudbrightshire
Oct12 5-3 Stranraer v Nithsdale Wanderers
Oct05 3-2 Maxwelltown Volunteers v Dumfries
Aberdeenshire, and North of Scotland
Oct05 4-0 Inverness Caledonian v Victoria United
Qualifying Cup Fourth Round - These 16 teams qualified for the First Round proper
Oct19 1-2 Johnstone v Motherwell
Nov09 4-0 Thornliebank v Arthurlie
Oct19 3-1 Kilwinning Eglinton v Ayr
Oct19 0-2 Stranraer v Maxwelltown Volunteers
Oct19 0-0 Inverness Caledonian v Arbroath
Oct26 3-0 Arbroath v Inverness Caledonian
Oct19 7-0 Forfar Athletic v* Stanley
Oct19 1-2 Falkirk v Cowdenbeath
Oct19 4-0 Stenhousemuir v Lochgelly United
Qualifying Cup Fifth Round
Nov02 1-0 Maxwelltown Volunteers v Kilwinning Eglinton
Nov16 4-0 Motherwell v Thornliebank
Nov02 0-0 Cowdenbeath v Stenhousemuir
Nov16 1-0 Stenhousemuir v Cowdenbeath
Nov02 1-4 Forfar Athletic v Arbroath
Qualifying Cup Semi-finals
Nov23 6-1 Motherwell v Maxwelltown Volunteers
Nov23 1-1 Stenhousemuir v Arbroath
Nov30 1-1 Arbroath v Stenhousemuir
Dec07 5-4 Stenhousemuir v Arbroath a.e.t. 4-4
Qualifying Cup Final
Dec14 1-2 Motherwell v Stenhousemuir at Falkirk
First Round
Jan11 2-0 Hibernian v Clyde
Jan11 6-1 Stenhousemuir v Stanley
Jan11 3-2 Forfar Athletic v Abercorn
Jan11 3-0 Celtic v* Thornliebank
Jan11 0-0 Ayr v Dundee
Jan18 2-0 Dundee v Ayr
Dec28 3-2 Arbroath v Kilwinning Eglinton
Jan11 4-0 Kilmarnock v Partick Thistle
Jan11 0-0 Cowdenbeath v Heart of Midlothian
Jan18 3-0 Heart of Midlothian v Cowdenbeath
Jan11 1-0 St Mirren v Airdrieonians
Jan11 0-2 Lochgelly United v Falkirk
Jan11 1-0 St Bernard's v Motherwell
Jan11 1-1 Arthurlie v Port Glasgow Athletic
Jan18 3-1 Port Glasgow Athletic v Arthurlie
Jan11 6-1 Rangers v Johnstone
Jan11 0-0 3rd L.R.V. v Greenock Morton
Jan18 2-3 Greenock Morton v 3rd L.R.V.
Jan11 6-1 Inverness Caledonian v Stranraer
Jan11 7-0 Queen's Park v Maxwelltown Volunteers
Second Round
Jan25 4-1 Heart of Midlothian v 3rd L.R.V.
Jan25 6-0 St Mirren v Stenhousemuir
Jan25 2-3 Arbroath v Celtic
Jan25 5-1 Rangers v* Inverness Caledonian
Jan25 2-0 Kilmarnock v Dundee
Jan25 2-0 Falkirk v St Bernard's
Jan25 1-4 Forfar Athletic v Queen's Park
Jan25 1-5 Port Glasgow Athletic v Hibernian
Third Round
Feb15 1-1 Heart of Midlothian v Celtic
Feb22 2-1 Celtic v Heart of Midlothian
Feb22 1-7 Queen's Park v Hibernian
Feb08 0-2 Falkirk v St Mirren
Feb22 2-0 Rangers v Kilmarnock
Mar22 0-2 Rangers v Hibernian at Ibrox Park
Mar22 2-3 St Mirren v Celtic at Love Street
Apr26 0-1 Celtic v Hibernian at Celtic Park